Maharaja Ranjit Singh Punjab Technical University, BATHINDA

(A State University Established By Govt. of Punjab vide Punjab Act No. 5 of 2015 and Approved Under Section 2(f) & 12 (B) of UGC)

Department of Mathematics

The department of mathematics was established in 2011 when the Punjab government has declared GZSCET Bathinda as 2nd campus of PTU Jalandhar where the major thrust would be on research and P.G. courses. In light of this campus has started M.Sc (Mathematics) from the academic year 2012. In 2015, Govt. of Punjab established Maharaja Ranjit Singh Punjab Technical University, Bathinda and department of mathematics is then shifted to the university main campus. Department has started B.Sc. (Hons.) Mathematics from the academic year 2017. Since inception, it has grown in stature to be ranked amongst the best in the university. The faculty of Applied Mathematics is also teaching various important subjects in the following programs.

1)    B.Tech (All Branches),  2)  B. Sc. (Hons.) and M.Sc. (Physics, Chemistry) 
3)    MCA, M.Tech (Regular) 4) Food Science and Technology, M. Phram., Phram. D.

The department is boon to have efficient qualified faculty who continuously updating their knowledge as per requirement of present world technology and forwarding the fruitful knowledge to the students.  The department is consistently achieving more than 95% results in all the courses offered. Along with education out students are participating in the development of the needs of various departments in the university and also department is participating in extension activities programs.
Major strength of the department is its Faculty with vast teaching and Research experience. Major areas of Research include Applied and Pure Mathematics like Numerical analysis, Operation Research, Fourier analysis, Complex Analysis, Information theory and Topology.